A 15%+ increase in revenue with 6 words

Yes. It really is that simple.

Welcome to the 25th issue of Always Be Learning. The newsletter that will let you know when you have a piece of food stuck between your teeth.

If you were forwarded this email, you can subscribe by clicking below:

Friend of the program:

At the end of the day, marketing comes down to positioning. How do you stand out vs. your competitors?

Brian O'Connor writes a newsletter called The Competitive Edge that will teach you 1 simple positioning tip every week to help grow your digital business.

Try it for free today👇

Today's Marketing Breakdown:

In today's issue, I'm going to show you how to increase your revenue by over 15% with six words.

It's going to be a quick one!

See that one line of copy highlighted in the blue box?

That's it.

I ran an A/B test on an Attentive popup:

  • Version 1 = no line of copy

  • Version 2 = line of copy under email form

Adding this one line resulted in a:

  • 10.79% uplift in signups

  • 15.79% uplift in revenue generated from these signups

Why does it work?

You can call it FOMO, loss aversion, or whatever you want...

The underlying principle is that people hate to miss a deal.

Nobody gets joy out of clicking a link that says: "No, I don't like free stuff"

Plus, outside of the obvious performance improvement, I love this tactic for a few other reasons:

  1. It was dead simple to test.

  2. It shows some brand personality.

  3. It's subtle and not too pushy or "in your face."

Bottom Line:

One small tweak can have a huge impact on your performance.

This is a low-lift A/B test that any business can run.

Play around with different types of language and let me know how it goes.

ALSO - shout out to my man Kenny Smithnanic who taught me this tactic!

There you have it! 1 marketing tip to help grow your DTC business.

Here’s what else I’m checking out in the DTC marketing world:

  1. 8 sources of cost-free profit (click here)

  2. Use these words in your copy (click here)

  3. 9 psychology principles to master marketing (click here)

Hope this has been helpful!

If you enjoyed it, please forward it along to your marketing friends.

See ya next Thursday,

Joe

P.S. Whenever you're ready, there are 3 ways I can help you:

  1. Join me for Cohort 2 of my Email Marketing 101 course. The course will run from 9/26 - 9/29 (enroll here).

  2. Book a 30-minute 1-on-1 consultation call with me and I'll answer any questions you have about email marketing, SMS marketing, and/or customer retention (book here).

  3. Sponsor my newsletter and get your brand, newsletter, or business in front of 1,000+ marketers and business owners (reply to this email).

P.P.S. And if you want to start writing your own newsletter on beehiiv, get started here!